top of page

Embody Health & Wellness

Spring 2018

This semester I worked for a local company in Lewiston called Embody Health and Wellness with the owner Ami Patrick and her friend Christina Taylor. During the internship I assisted with social media, photography, events and website revamping.

I actually started working with them in the fall but this semester I worked with them for internship credit. During my time working with these two ladies we would meet periodically to talk about goals and what we wanted to accomplish for the month. We primarily talked through email and a group message so we did not have to meet in person all the time. A lot of the work could be done from home.

I would work roughly 10 hours a week checking social media sites, creating post and events. I had access to the studios Facebook and Instagram account. I would also monitor the website and the MindBody app (an app used to schedule a client’s classes) to see how full or lack of classes would be to base what type of classes should be promoted on the website. I also started a Motivation Monday campaign during the fall semester that last about 5 months as a way for clients to get to know each other as well as a way to promote the studio. We also highlighted each instructor and the classes they teach as a way to promote as well.

Throughout the semester I would come up with social media post ideas and talk with the ladies about them, then draft up the post and add pictures then post. I also had created numerous Facebook events for workshops for events at the studio like their open house. Time was also spent taking photos of the studio and classes/instructors for social media use, website use and to create a stock pile. During the open house and some smaller events, I would also be at the studio to take photos, assist in general task and answer questions that clients may have had or directed them to someone who could.

Towards the end of the semester I was asked to look at the website and offer any recommendations on improvements to their website. With this, I came up with a list of suggestions and even created a list of pictures and captions to be placed on the website.

I loved working with this small business, the studio empathizes empowering women and is a fun, relaxed and judgement free studio. Working for a small business like this one day would be great. I loved being able to works closely with the owner and creating a lasting relationship that goes beyond the internship. They were the sweetest and kindest ladies to work for. Being able to run their social media pages gave me the ability to master Facebook and Instagram better from a business aspect. I loved being able to work from home or school and not have to go into an office every day, it provided flexibility with my school and work schedule.

I would encourage another student to work with this small business or with another small business. Connecting with a local chamber of commerce would be a great way to find a small business that might be looking for help. When I started with Embody Health and Wellness they did not have much of a social media experience and now they have gained hundreds of followers and even post more on a daily basis and will be set up well once I am done working with them. I would encourage any student who is looking to gain experience to work with a small business because they are often the ones who need the most help in many aspects, many in social media.

My only draw back from the internship was that because we did not meet face to face often it sometimes was hard to get an answer or a reply from the ladies. They are both very busy with children and work that sometime they would not be able to reply fast so social media post may be delayed until I could hear back. Besides this though, I loved working with the ladies at Embody Health and Wellness and will miss working with them.

Recent Posts
bottom of page