top of page

Chelsea Modern Images - Photography

Fall 2018

My internship with Chelsea Modern Images was an experience which has given me more than I ever could have asked for. The kind hearted, hard working, talented owner has exceeded my expectations from my internship. I have created many relationships through this internship but the most important one is with the owner herself. Being a one woman business she does it all. This can be very difficult at times but she always perseveres and shows a work ethic and a love for her profession which is inspiring.

From my the moment I had received the email to apply to the internship knew this was where I wanted to be. My duties that were expected of me was to use social media to promote the studio, create marketing materials of her product and create campaigns for special events. She had pushed me even further utilizing my talents which I already had, to further my learning. I had expanded my knowledge of Photoshop to create marketing materials which used tools I had never used. Conversations about color balance, focus and composition had gone on in a professional studio like setting. Choosing design elements for marketing materials and client gifts was also utilized from my personal talents. I got the unique opportunity to bring together my creative artist background with my marketing business background. She had seen the talent I possess and pushed me past what I knew I was able to do to become a transformed diverse artist in the marketing field which I can use in my ultimate goal of Advertising.

Entering this internship I had known that the skills that I was going to be taught would be beneficial but I did not know the lengths that they would be extended to. Photography had always been a hobby of mine but I do consider it as a profession now. My graphic design skills also have been strengthened which I needed for my profession. I have gone to events during my internship and been a photographer for important local events. After seeing my work, when the internship ends I have been offered to become an event photographer on occasion which I never could have imagined in my wildest dreams! I have been taught how to use Photoshop, work with people and shown more opportunities in the work field that I had known.

Mainly, my work was done on Mondays or Wednesdays from 9am to 1pm. This is where graphic work was done, marketing materials were made, photos were narrowed down and designs were made. This was the usual work being done to promote Christmas Mini sessions, set up for shoots and create packages for clients. Even one day we made a trip to hobby lobby to buy props for the sets. Special opportunities were working the Mini sessions; I keep the schedule, tried to make crying babies laugh and brought dogs back into the photos when they walked away. I also attended the Mt. St. Mary’s Gala where I was a second shooter for the events pictures. I got to dress up in a formal gown, meet many prestigious caregivers of our area and take pictures of them enjoying the night. Lastly, one of my favorite of my opportunities was attending the Lewiston Holiday Christmas Market at the BBC. I also was a second shooter at this event but I also got to be a vendor of the event selling gift certificates, introducing my mentor to future clients and explaining my great experiences there. These were the events that made my time at Chelsea Modern Images extra special as this was not just an in office experience but an interactive one.

This opportunity was flexible with both of our schedules to complete the hours. To say the least, going in did not feel like work at all. Today, I feel I have gained more than just a business partner but a great friend who pushes me to reach my goals. Not only did the work get done, but the laughs and memories which I have shared in this internship are ones which I will cherish forever. This was a professional yet comfortable environment to create the best product for the clients.

I feel that the greatest feeling was the day in the beginning of December where I came in and the owner said, “ I cant believe that your time here is almost over, I wish we could continue working together.” She quickly after that came up with many ideas to bring me back which I gladly accepted. She also thanked me profusely for all that I have done and said that before my time was over that she wanted me to bring her two things that she could teach me. One with how to use my camera in better lengths so that I could continue to grow in my photography practice and also any other thing that she could teach me to better myself in my career field. She was more than a teacher, mentor or boss but a friend who wanted to see me succeed in a selfless way. In my internship I have created a life long relationship that will last a lifetime to better my career and have gained a great friend who will only push me to do my best. I am very thankful for more than just an internship but a learning experience which will push me forward in my career to come.

Recent Posts
bottom of page